Rose of Tralee


    While the Rose of Tralee has recently concluded for this year, organisers are already looking ahead to 2019 and have revamped the selection process by removing the regional qualification process.

    From next year, each centre  - including Mayo - will only select a Rose every second year, with 32 Roses being hosted in Tralee.

    Roses representing Kerry, Cork and Dublin will continue to be selected every year, while a Rose will represent Mayo every second year from 2019.

    The changes follow controversy over the selection of just 32 of the 66 Roses for the live TV interviews.


    THE 32 Roses who will appear on stage with Dáithí Ó Sé in the Dome for the televised Rose of Tralee Finals on Monday 20th and Tuesday 21st August were announced this morning at a private breakfast in Tralee and include the Mayo Rose Rachel Gibbons, the Abu Dhabi Rose Sara Kate Mangan from Doohoma and the Leitrim Rose Imelda Scally from Loughglynn.

    The other roses selected hail from Galway, Arizona, Boston & New England, Carlow, Chicago, Cork, Down, Dubai, Dublin, Florida, Germany, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, London, Melbourne, Monaghan, New York, New Zealand, Newfoundland & Labrador, Perth, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Sydney, Toronto, Waterford, Westmeath, Yorkshire.

    57 Roses representing Irish communities all over the world travelled to Tralee to enjoy everything that Ireland’s flagship family festival has to offer – parades, gala functions, entertainment, televised Rose selection nights, a Rose Tour and much more.

    Once again, only 32 Roses can be accommodated in the live TV selections on Monday 20th and Tuesday 21st August and this year’s qualifying judging process will take place before the Roses arrive in Tralee.

    Like the past two years, three Judging Panels were involved in the qualifying selection process, an Irish and Overseas panel, while a third panel of Judges chaired by RTÉ Presenter, Mary Kennedy will pick the 2018 Rose of Tralee.

    RTÉ will broadcast the 2018 Rose of Tralee TV shows from 8pm on Monday 20th and Tuesday 21st with a break for the 9 o’clock News on both nights.

    The 2018 Rose Escort of the Year will be announced on Monday 20th August and the 2018 Rose of Tralee will be crowned on Tuesday 21st.




  • The 2018 Mayo Rose is Rachel Gibbons. Rachel hails from just outside Hollymount, and she popped into studio this week to chat to Tommy Marren about her time as the Mayo Rose and how much she is looking forward to heading to the Rose of Tralee festival in the coming weeks. She also talked about why she has chosen to partner with the Mayo Mental Health Association and how she herself has had struggles with mental health, in a brilliantly frank and honest interview.

  • The live finals of the Rose of Tralee gets underway this evening.

    32 out of the 57 Roses will compete in the televised finals over tonight and tomorrow night, live from the Dome, with more than one million viewers expected to tune in into RTE One over the two nights.

    The first 18 Roses are preparing to take to the stage this evening to be interviewed by host Daithi O'Sé.

    The Abu Dhabi Rose Sara Kate Mangan from Doohoma in north Mayo and the Leitrim Rose Imelda Scally from Loughglynn in Co Roscommon will both be interviewed tonight, while tomorrow night will see the turn of Mayo Rose Rachel Gibbons from Hollymount and the Galway Rose Deirdre O'Sullivan.

    Three of this year's Roses are from Mayo, as Lori Gavin from Islandeady is representing Kentucky.

    Lori is Operations Manager with Portwest USA and lives in Kentucky.

    However, she didn't qualify for the televised finals.