Rachel Baynes

  • Republic of Ireland Women's Under 19 Head Coach Dave Connell has confirmed a 20-player squad for a mini tournament in England. 

    The WU19s are set to face Northern Ireland on Saturday, July 14th with kick-off at 6pm before they face England on Wednesday, July 18th with kick-off at 12.30pm at Queen Ethelburgas Collegiate, Yorkshire. 

    Connell has named a number of players who've recently been selected for the senior squad, including Peamount United winger Heather Payne and Sion Swifts midfielder Amy Boyle-Carr. 

    Doireann Fahey, who recently moved to Wexford Youths from Peamount United, has also been called up as well as Isibeal Atkinson who made her senior debut in the 0-0 draw against Norway in June.

    Republic of Ireland WU19 Head Coach Dave Connell said: "We're looking forward to the tournament as it should provide the perfect challenge for us. We've got to look forward and the next challenge for us is the 2019 European Championship qualifiers so we're constantly assessing in preparation for that. 

    "We've got some great experience in the squad as well with the likes of Heather Payne and Isibeal Atkinson who've recently done so well for the senior squad. There are a number of players making the step-up to the level as well from the WU17s so it's a good mix. 

    "Of course, they will be two difficult games for us but a lot of our players are currently in season with their clubs so hopefully they'll be able to bring their club form into the two games."

    Republic of Ireland WU19 Squad

    Goalkeepers: Erica Turner (UCD Waves), Rachel Kelly (Shelbourne)

    Defenders: Aoife Slattery (Wexford Youths), Sadhbh Doyle (Galway Women's), Roisin McGovern (UCD Waves), Leah Brady (Galway Women's), Doireann Fahey (Wexford Youths), Rachel Baynes (Galway Women's).

    Midfielders: Megan Mackey (Brighton and Hove Albion), Lucia Lobato (Galway Women's), Heather Payne (Peamount United), Amy Boyle Carr (Sion Swifts), Orla Casey (Wexford Youths), Chloe Singleton (Galway Women's), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Sinead Donavan (Galway Women's).

    Forwards: Carla McManus (Kilkenny United), Louise Masterson (Peamount United), Alannah McEvoy (Shelbourne), Aoife Thompson (Galway Women's).


    Saturday, July 14 - Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland, KO 6pm, Queen Ethelburgas Collegiate
    Wednesday, July 18 - England v Republic of Ireland, KO 12.30pm, Queen Ethelburgas Collegiate


    Dave Connell's Republic of Ireland Women's Under-19s ended their UEFA Women's Under-19 Championship Qualifying Round with a 100% record after a 3-0 win last night against Ukraine, in Lithuania.

     A goal from Lucia Lobato in the first-half, followed by two goals in the final ten minutes from Alannah McEvoy and Tiegan Ruddy meant Ireland ended the campaign with 13-goals scored, and none conceded.

    Newport's Rachel Baynes was awarded FAI player of the match afterwards.

    The draw for the Elite Round will take place in November, with the matches to be played in Spring 2019.

    Ukraine: Anna-Mariia Kryschyshyn; Veronika Nikitiuk, Maryna Shaynyuk, Mariya Koleshchuk, Romana Lukach; Anastasiia Illina, Iryna Kotiash; Valeriya Postol (Viktoriya Hiryn 27), Oksana Bilokur (Nadiia Veherych 88), Nadiia Kunina (capt); Yuliya Semenyuk (Solomiia Kupiak 66)

    Republic of Ireland: Erica Turner; Rachel Baynes (Doireann Fahey 64), Roisin McGovern, Sadhbh Doyle (Leah Brady 87), Lucia Lobato (Aoife Slattery 77); Chloe Singleton, Megan Mackey (capt), Tiegan Ruddy; Isibeal Atkinson (Louise Masterson 87), Alannah McEvoy, Heather Payne (Aoife Thompson 87)

    Referee: Elvira Nurmustafina (KAZ)