Local Elections

  • Alan Dillon has announced today that he will not be running in the local elections in May but instead will focus entirely on seeking a Dail seat in the constituency of Mayo.

    He has decided not to seek a nomination at the Fine Gael selection convention for the Castlebar Municipal District which will take place next month on Sunday, 10th February.

    As a candidate for Dáil Éireann, Mr. Dillon says he is firmly focusing all of his attention on a successful campaign to retain a Fine Gael seat, currently held by former Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, TD. 

    Alan was chosen as the Fine Gael party's Castlebar-based candidate to contest the next General Election alongside Minister for Rural and Community Development, Michael Ring, and Senator Michelle Mulherin.

    In a statement to Midwest News Mr Dillon says “I am confident there is no shortage of excellent candidates to contest the upcoming Local and European Elections in May 2019 and for that reason, I have decided to announce that I will be focusing solely on the next General Election.  I will continue to place all my energy in my preparedness to have the strongest chance of retaining the seat held by Fine Gael in Castlebar for the past 65 years since the people of Mayo entrusted the late Henry Kenny’s election in 1954.”

  • Castlebar Fine Gael Cllr Henry Kenny will not be seeking re-election next May.

    A Fine Gael Castlebar district meeting heard last night that Mr Kenny will not be standing in next year’s local elections.

    It ends over 60 years of the Kenny family’s involvement in Mayo politics.

  • The Fine Gael Executive Council has added Donna Sheridan as a candidate for the Castlebar local election area in Mayo.

    Ms Sheridan will contest the Local Elections on Friday, May 24 along with her party colleagues; Cllr Cyril Burke, Ger Deere and Eugene McCormack, who were all selected at the Castlebar convention on February 10 last.

    Fine Gael’s Executive Council met on Wednesday night in Dublin and decided to add Ms Sheridan to the ticket in the Mayo constituency.

    Ms Sheridan, a qualified teacher, is originally from Brownhall, Balla and now lives in Castlebar. She works for the Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim Education and Training Board as Further Education and Training Co-ordinator and is also a member of the TUI National Executive.

    Previously Donna’s colleagues elected her as a member of the Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim Education and Training Board and also onto the National Executive of the Teachers Union of Ireland.

     Fine Gael has held 133 of 166 selection conventions to date with 304 candidates selected of which 81 (27%) are women.


  • Fine Gael has selected three candidates to run in next May's local elections in the new seven-seat electoral area of Castlebar.

    They are outgoing Councillor Cyril Burke together with former county councillor Eugene McCormack and former town councillor Ger Deere.

    Two other nominees at last night’s convention in the TF Royal Hotel in Castlebar, Darren McCormack and Padraig Corcoran, were unsuccessful while former town councillor Noreen Heston withdrew her nomination ahead of the convention.

    The night’s proceedings, including a ballot, was chaired by Galway Councillor Padraig Conneely


    Fianna Fail selected two candidates to contest the local election in Connemara North last night.

    They are sitting councillor Séamus Walsh and Gerry King.

    The selection convention took place in Peacock’s Hotel in Maam Cross.

     The sitting councillor was automatically chosen for the ticket without a vote.

    A close contest took place for the second position on the ticket between Josie Conneely and Gerry King.

  • Fianna Fail last night selected Sean Carey and sitting West Mayo councillor Paul McNamara as their candidates in the new Belmullet electoral area for the upcoming local elections.

    Both men were selected without a vote, as there were two contenders for the two places on the party’s ticket

    The new electoral area of Belmullet will return 3 councillors in the May elections.